The Silence in the Wait

I wanted to tell you I can’t stay

But here I sit in silence

I am haunted by these thoughts that peck

And harass my already worn brain

But I continue to sit in silence

 

Will I be a coward if I leave

Will something change if I fight through it

Or will I be left standing to pick up the pieces

These thoughts come full circle

I fiddle with my belongings

I make the conscious decision to go

But my 5 seconds of bravery has passed

And  I find myself sitting back in silence

 

I nurse my creeping fears

You have stopped telling me we’ll be fine

I can see it in your eyes

They’ve come to haunt you too

But yet we continue to sit in silence

 

I am drowning in our darkness

Or maybe we were always sinking and we just couldn’t see it

These mirky waters which used to be so clear and refreshing

Is dragging me down now

I cannot breathe

And I can feel our end nearing

But I do nothing

I let it drag me under

Silently, I continue to wait

Leave a comment